White boys are so pretty! Hair like Chinese silk…

So for the four months I was in Denver, I rented a room from a 60-ish Vietnam vet who practiced Religious Science and sold organic steak for a living. He was a great person to get to know during my short stay in the US and we had quite a few late night chats in which my new friend dispensed advice without ever really seeming to.

One of the things he said was that a great way to see a new city is to go on dates. When he first moved to Denver as a young man, he invested in a very creative personal ad (this is pre-match.com) and got to know the city by going on a series of low pressure dates with, as he says, “the women of Denver”.

This sounded like a great idea, so shortly after moving to South Korea, I set up a few new online dating profiles on sites that seemed focused on, y’know, actually meeting people to do stuff. I steered clear–I thought–of the hook up sites and the “let’s text and or message each other ad nauseum until we don’t want to meet anyway because you are A BORING PERSON” sites.

I set up the profiles, let them marinate, and came back to check. What interesting, new and/or devastatingly handsome guys awaited me, ready to show me the sights and sounds of Seoul?

uhuhgirl

Dear GOD. Say it with me, boys and girls…creep city!

Now, ALL online dating has a slight creep factor–how could it not? But honestly…I’ve had an online dating profile in three different countries and nowhere has been as creepy as South Korea.

There are way too many race fetishists and neo-colonial greaseballs floating around this here 인터넷, y’all. Every single profile and ad I’ve seen so far has had an oddly specific racial desire  included and a lot of them start with asinine things like “Hi, I’m _____. I can be your white (insert horrible noun here)!” or “If you ever want to try a chubby black girl,  I’m here for you.”

Say it with me again, boys and girls…creep city! EEEEEK!

Koreans aren’t exempt from this, by the way. Despite what the apparent legions of Korean culture fans who seem to be constantly asking if it’s possible for Koreans to be attracted to  non-Koreans on every single Korean culture website I go to(especially this one) would have you believe—Koreans love them some everybody. Or at least return the fetish favor. (I got a message from a Korean guy asking if I’d ever worn a weave and if not, would I wear one for him. Yeah. It’s like that.)

Jesus be a matchmaker. I can understand having racial preferences(I certainly have a few) as long as you’re not an exclusionary self-hating asshole about it. (As in; “I am a black woman and I prefer black men.” is okay.  “I am a black woman, and I only date white/Chinese/Puerto Rican men because black men ain’t about my life!!” is stupid and you just look like a heffa. Cut it out. And really, do you think there are no black Puerto Ricans? Like what you like, but don’t be a douche about it.)  I can’t understand creating a dating profile just for the purpose of dating XYZ group of people. I REALLY can’t understand folks who answer that kind of ad. Do you think weave boy got a response from me? NO. That message got deleted, which is the same direction I think that my online dating profiles are going to go.

I haven’t been on any dates here facilitated by the internet yet…but I have been on a few with folks I met in this strange thing called real life. (6 weeks in Korea vs 6 YEARS in England has been extraordinarily good for my mojo. I’m just saying…)  They haven’t all been black.  And I find that, even though you don’t get the extensive backstory of an online profile, I’m seeing just as much of the city that way as well…without having to side-eye anyone because I’m wondering if they found my profile by checking the “black” box when searching. And it’s nice not to know too much about a date–after all, it gives you something to talk about.

Love to hear your comments on the racial preference thing and online dating sites if you have a moment…please. Remind me that people are still actually reading this blog…pwease…

Today’s title vid is below…and because I know you might be wondering, my racial preference is…

…none of your business unless you are dating me.

Peace, beautiful people!

3 responses

  1. I’ve never set up online dating profiles, but I’ve heard some interesting stories. Personally, I’m sick of every single thing having to be about race. It especially annoys me when people who claim that “it’s not about race”, have certain preferences that may as well be fetishes. I have a preference, but I’m open to whoever treats me like a lady.

  2. This depresses me! I’ve never been a fan of online dating, but I was going to set up a profile when I came to Korea and now with what you’re saying…that’s exactly the reason why I wasn’t a fan of it before! I’m really hoping the white dudes in Korea aren’t like the white dudes in Thailand: only looking for Asian loooove….because this being single for 32 years is getting old!

  3. Wow! I don’t have any experience, because I got married way too long ago to remember dating sites on the internet, or much of an internet. But this does kind of remind me of when I put my ad on Craigslist in NYC providing free modeling for those who wanted to expand their portfolios, and boy did I get some huge creeps, especially of the foot fetish kind.
    But it does kind of make me wonder how much a weirdo would pay to watch me put my feet into mud. A girl could get a lot done showing a guy her feet: Pay some bills, file her nails, learn a new language…just sayin’.
    The freaks are everywhere, girl!!

What Do You Think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 338 other followers

