In search of the elusive Now ‘N Later gator…

5 Random Thoughts For Today;

1) Next time I get the urge to publicly post a random depressed screed having nothing to do with anything in particular, I hope I have the sense to sit on my hands and just not do it. Yikes, I scare myself sometimes.

2) Television really sucks. I mean, really, really sucks. I’m living in a house with a TV for the first time in about a year, and what can I say? It really sucks! I turn it on, expecting to be entertained or at least brainwashed, and I’m alternately bored, annoyed and infuriated. It used to be that I had to watch about six hours of CNN before I started hollering obscenities and throwing shoes at the screen. Now, all it takes is one episode of Strictly Come Dancing. Just realizing how bad the title grammar is makes my blood pressure rise. I mean, really. What’s next? A new musical competition show entitled Singing Must We Do?

3) I’m sure there’s some cultural or linguistic reason for Strictly Come Dancing’s title that I just don’t get. This happens often. As a matter of fact, every time I perceived something to be weird, I usually run the thing or situation by a half-dozen people just to make sure that it was, in fact, really weird or if it’s perfectly normal for people here to do or say that sort of thing. This is especially true for social situations. Things that I think are normal are not. Things that I think are weird are completely normal. Things that I don’t think about are apparently very important and annoy the stuffing out of anyone who associates with me on a regular basis.  No longer being artistically productive enough to be considered a harmless eccentric, I’m now becoming my least favorite interpersonal animal, the social neurotic. In laymans’ terms, that just means I need a vacation. Or a holiday. Either way, I still don’t like Strictly Come Dancing.

4) Snoop Dogg has reinvented himself as a singer on his latest album. Why? WHY? WHY!? He sounds like a bootleg T-Pain. And since it’s already been established that T-Pain is the bootleg Zapp and Roger, this means that Snoop Dogg is now a bootleg of a bootleg of something that was wack to begin with. No shizzle, ma nizzle. Please go back to the days of ironing your shirt while Dr. Dre wanders through your house rhyming aimlessly and pretending he isn’t wack either. Or even better, the days when you were out-rhyming 50 Cent on his own track just by spelling your name. Come on, man. Step it up, playa!

If you must expose yourself to this musical catastrophe, it’s here. Please wash after listening.

5) I’m not even going to talk about the US presidential race. Except to say that so far, Ralph Nader, you are letting me down. Ain’t nobody about to vote for Jared Ball. Let’s get real. Hurry up, announce something, and give the o.1 percent of the American population who voted for you last time something to hope for. You only have a year to win over the other 99.9 percent–get cracking!

~sigh~ I really need a vacation. Or a holiday. Maybe both.

3 responses

  1. What’s lame is the effects, and the blithering snap clap beat, not the idea of him SINGING, I don’t think. But it was unlistenable enough to be unable to know for sure.

    Just now see that I missed a blog, sorry.

    Alright, I saw the term “Strictly Come Dancing” in your tags up above, before I read this, and only one thing came to mind. Only one thing STILL comes to mind, and I can’t really imagine what the hell it actually IS, if not music designed expressly for producing orgasms. Or what it’s SUPPOSED to be. But then it’s been literally YEARS since I’ve seen television, so I reckon I’m pretty far “behind”.

  2. so my lovely melo, you just know before i even say it that my saturday nights (and friday afternoons) are governed by the wonderous magic that is strictly come dancing! firstly, to explain the english title…
    back in the 70’s (i think and therefore all of these facts i now tell you are second hand as i wasn’t around then either), when brucey was still old, and tess was yet a sparkle in her mother’s belly, there were two hit dance shows on a saturday night, “Strictly Ballroom” and “Come Dancing”! neither was a reality tv show for f-list celebs, as reality tv just didn’t exist, and they involved happy professional dancers and possibly members of the public who liked a good waltz. The show that we now know and i love, came a few years ago as a way of raising money and ratings for the bbc, and to resurect those careers that needed a good ol’ boost. the names were merged in a nostalgic fashion, and that would be it it seems. Obviously this random british name makes no sense to you and your fellow countrymen and women, and so they renamed it dancing with the stars for you mericanas!
    Now, i can’t believe you don’t love it!! ooo come for a holiday to the liverpool soon and embrace the cheese!!

    Love you very much, catch up soon xx

What Do You Think?

