Once again…redundancy…

You need more people

I don’t talk about politics a lot here, just because I generally don’t know what I’m talking about when it comes to that subject.  But um…sorry, Mrs. Clinton.  Maybe Idle Warship and Chester French said it best…

That Idle Warship link is probably the best way to segue into today’s boredom- induced mumbly blog…last time I typed a whole bunch about general pop music, this time it’s time to hip y’all to some of the lesser-known, more artistically oriented stuff that’s out there…

…and yes, I just said “hip y’all”.  As in, lately I feel like I’m getting so out of touch I gotta watch out I don’t break a hip, y’all.

I gotta get out of the house more…

In any case, the best thing about soul and real hip-hop and just good non-pop music in general is that you don’t have to do a lot of explaining about it…you just have to listen and it explains itself.  So here, without further ado, are five lesser know artists I perpetually bump.

Ow, my hip…

1) Daru Beats…check his mixtape here.

2)Ayah…I cannot get Passin Me By out of my head lately!

3)Altie singer Santogold is cool. That’s all I have to say about that.*

4)Ethiopian soulsinger Wayna just put out some newness, too. Check out Billy Club with another favorite of mine, Muhsinah. Although, thinking of Wayna makes me think of Lamya…where on earth is she at these days?

5) And finally, showing the soul-singing fellas some love, we have Coultrain.

And now, without further ado, I’m going back to work.

*I had to come back and add this in…remember when Estelle played the race card and it turned out to be a joker? Well, now Santogold is doing the same thing…but she’s kinda right.  Nobody who’s actually listened to any of her tunes would think she was anything but a pop or alternative artist. Maybe Afro-punk lite, if you stretch it. Hmmmm……

One response

  1. If you don’t stop being so damn cute I’ma havta hurchoo.

What Do You Think?

