Throw your soul through every open door, count your blessings to find what you look for…

I am so unimpressed with myself right now. I have ten tons of work to do…a meeting to discuss the first bit of my dissertation, an essay to do some research for, a sadly neglected etsy shop to update, and a recapitulative seminar to revise for tomorrow morning.

But what am I doing? I’m drifting across the internet, visiting Twitter and Facebook and YouTube and WordPress. Ah, WordPress. The place I come to talk about things that don’t matter much to people who don’t know me at all. What would I do without internet therapy?

This was originally going to be one of my typical long, ranty posts full of unnecessary self-disclosure, complaints and platitudinizing but you know what?

I wrote it all out.
I read it.
I read it again.
And I decided that I did not need to be putting all of that temporary misery out there for permanent on the internet. I’ve done my share of that. It’s out of my system. It’s done, It’s gone.

Like I said, what would I do without internet therapy?

Today’s song title/blog title has nothing to do with the topic, but I did want to shout out this kick–ass cover of Adele’s Rolling In the Deep by Swedish band Dirty Loops. Adele, for me, is a big meh in the musical landscape and Rolling the Deep is the meh-iest of all her tunes. Don’t get me wrong–I can see why people love her and that song. I just don’t feel the same way.

This cover by Dirty Loops, does what all the best covers do and makes this song a keeper for me.

With that said, I’ll ask a few questions to end today’s post.

What happens when you realize that you’re doing too much with too little?

What happens when you realize, on the path to becoming a better person, that you also need better people?

Tricky questions, I suppose. Hit the comments if you have any ideas.

2 responses

  1. No simple answers.

  2. […] Am I just another version of what is externally dragging me down? And, as I began to ask in this post, what happens when you realize, on the path to becoming a better person, that you also need better […]

What Do You Think?

